Food Check-Out Day

Committee Chairs

Sussex County Chair

Connie Fox

Food Check-Out Day marks the time of year when Americans will have earned enough disposable income to pay for groceries for a family of four, for the rest of the year.  Every year, the Delaware Farm Bureau Women’s Committee purchases groceries from Sam’s Club in Dover and stocks the cupboards at the Ronald McDonald Room in Bayhealth Medical Center. The donation allows families with patients in the NICU at Kent General Hospital to have a snack or quick meal while staying close to their loved ones. 

Each year the Delaware Farm Bureau Women’s Committee awards scholarships to students in the agricultural and non-agricultural field.  The State committee awards a $2,500 scholarship and each county committee awards a $1,000 scholarship.

Click here to download the application!

New Castle County Chair

June Unruh

Women's Leadership Program

Kent County Chair

Sandy Virdin

Women's Committee

The American Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership (AFBWL) program provides women with the training and education they need to become powerful advocates for today’s agriculture. The program provides women with leadership training, communication skills, and networking to strengthen their ability to encourage positive change in their communities and in the agricultural industry. Two examples of key programs spearheaded by the program include the annual Women’s Communication Boot Camp and the year-round Our Food Link program.


State Chair

Mary B. Gooden